Regular Events

Proposed Schedule of Events

WAC Board Meetings

The Wichita Aero Club Board of Directors meets quarterly. Upcoming meeting dates, times and locations are as follows. (These events are subject to change. For verification please call the Wichita Aero Club Office at 316.641.5962)


  • Tuesday, February 23 at Hotel at Old Town
  • Tuesday, May 17 at Crestview Country Club
  • Tuesday, August 23 at Textron Aviation, Cessna Citation X Conference Room

2016 WAC Speakers and Special Events Schedule

The details are subject to change, but here’s a glimpse of what you have to look forward to!

Tentative Monthly Luncheon Schedule

  • Thursday, February 25: Southwest Airlines Network Executives (Joint Meeting with Wichita Chamber at Botanica)
  • Tuesday, March 15: Charlie Johnson and George Bye, Aero Electric Aircraft Corporation at Doubletree by Hilton
  • Wednesday, April 13: FlightSafety CEO Bruce Whitman at Hotel at Old Town Conference Center
  • May: Kansas Department of Aviation Director Merrell Eisenhower
  • Sunday, June 19: Seventh Annual Wichita Aero Club Golf Classic at Crestview Country Club
  • July 26-31: EAA AirVenture at Witmann Regional Airport, Oshkosh, Wisconsin
  • August 23 4;30 PM (TENTATIVE): Possible Mixer at Stearman Field featuring WAC Scholarship Winners, Air Race Classic Team #58—Robin Laws and Tessa Roberts and a Mexican Buffet)
  • October 6: John and Martha King, KING SCHOOLS, Crestview Country Club
  • NBAA is Tuesday, November 1-Thursday, November 3 in Orlando, FL)
  • November: November 10th Tom Gentile, New CEO at Spirit AeroSystems.
  • December 12 : Annual ON-AIR SUMMIT with NEW LEADERSHIP IN THE AIR CAPITAL (Presenters may include Tonya Sudduth of Bombardier Learjet and Tim McQueen of General Electric Engines at Strother Field with Jerry Siebenmark of the WICHITA EAGLE as moderator).

Featuring high-profile speakers who are shaping our industry’s future. We invite political, industry and media leaders as well as prominent commercial and military aviators to address key issues.

On-Air Summit

Our premier business event, which annually brings together a panel of top management from the aviation industry to discuss critical current issues. See December 12 above

Networking Mingles

These periodic events provide exclusive opportunities for members to develop and strengthen professional relationships.

WAC Award Dinner

Our black tie optional event, where the members come together to honor someone with a strong relationship to the greater Wichita area who has earned distinction through exemplary achievement in aviation or aerospace.

WAC Golf Classic

Our exclusive golf tournament, held in conjunction with the Preferred Health Systems Wichita Open on the PGA Nationwide Tour, raises funds to support Aero Club networking events and aviation education outreach.

Guest Speakers

Since our first luncheon in December of 2008, speakers at the Wichita Aero Club Events have included:

Richard Aboulafia, The Teal Group Analyst
Craig Fuller, President of AOPA
Pete Bunce, GAMA President
Jim Coyne, National Air Transportation Association President
Ed Bolen, NBAA President
Rod Hightower, EAA President
Marian Blakey, AIA President
Henry Ogridzinski, NASAO President
Tom Poberezny, EAA Chairman and CEO
Jonathan Gaffney, President of the National Aeronautic Association
AOPA Foundation President Bruce Landsberg
Mac McClellan, former FLYING Magazine and current EAA Communications VP
Matt Thurber, Senior Editor of Aviation International News
Fred George, Senior Editor, Business and Commercial Aviation Magazine
Former Kansas Governor Mark Parkinson
Kansas Governor and former Senator Sam Brownback
Former Kansas Congressman Todd Tiahrt
Kansas Fourth District Congressman Mike Pompeo
Kansas Senator Pat Roberts
Kansas Senator Jerry Moran
National Transportation Safety Board Chairman Mark Rosenker
Former Cessna Chairman Russ Meyer
Former Learjet VP of Sales Alex Kvassay
Former Sullivan, Higdon & Sink CEO Al Higdon
Lindbergh Foundation Members Larry Williams (BRS Parachutes)
John Peterson (Arlington Institute)
Kermit Weeks (Fantasy of Flight)
David Treinis (Black Sheep Consultants)
John and Martha King, King Flight Schools
Clay Lacy, Clay Lacy Aviation
Dr. John B. Johnson, President of Embry Riddle University
Dr. Peggy Chabrian, President and Founder of Women In Aviation
Barry Eccleston, President of Airbus Americas
Michael Scheeringa, CEO of Signature Flight Support
Chris Orwoll, former President of The Kansas Cosmosphere
Jack Pelton, Former CEO of Cessna Aircraft Company
Mark Paolucci, former Cessna VP of Customer Support
Bill Boisture, Chairman of Hawker Beechcraft
Jeff Turner, CEO of Spirit AeroSystems
John O’Leary, VP and General Manager of Airbus North America Engineering
Chet Fuller, VP of Marketing, Bombardier Commercial Aircraft
Bob Fornaro, President of AirTran
Michael Scheeringa, Flight Safety International
Hal Shevers, Sporty’s Pilot Shop
Rob Mark, CommAVIA, Northwestern University School of Journalism
Roger Cohen, Regional Airline Association President
Mark Baker, AOPA President
Brian Barents, Aerion Co-Chairman
Michael Huerta, FAA Administrator
Jack DeBoer, CEO Consolidated Holdings

Renew your WAC membership today! Watch past luncheons here

And the WAC Trophy Winner Is… Paul bowen!


Join us as we celebrate his achievements at our annual Gala on January 28, 2017.
Reserve your spot early!

More Information